Welcome to the Best Month Ever

The best candy ever for the best month ever.

The best candy ever for the best month ever. Photo by me. You can tell because who else has the time to decorate their desk with food just because.

And I say that without any bias whatsoever. At least I’d like to think that October is objectively the best month ever, perhaps backed up by science and statistics and all sorts of other official things.

October is when the leaves start turning, when the weather cools down and people start breaking out their fall and winter clothes. Some of my favorite styles come out during this time of year. October is when pumpkin-flavoured-everythings can be found just about everywhere. It’s when everything starts turning orange and black, when the nights become exciting.

It’s when scary movie marathons come on TV (all the classics!) and you can sit back in your warm house, reading books by candlelight and huddling up with friends. It’s where you walk down the street to see glowing vegetables with faces on them and skeletons and ghosts hanging from doors and trees. Finally, it’s when you get to dress up as oddly as you want and go bother complete strangers for edible goods, and where you’re looked at as weird if you don’t do that.

This is also the month my birthday is in, but that’s just a small bonus.

I’ll become happy for certain times of the year, but nothing gets me to be actually excited like October. No other month will do that for me. I love the weather, the food, everything. Sure, I like Christmas, it’s okay. Thanksgiving, Easter, whatever. They’re all acceptable. I’ll keep them. But October is just awesome all month long.

One of my favorite parts of October is candy corn. It is one of my most favorite candies ever. But there’s a strange thing about this candy; people either adore it or hate it with a passion. I have only met about one person who really didn’t care about it.

So tell me your favorites! What is your favorite month? What’s your favorite candy? Do you love or hate candy corn, or are you among the ranks of the mystical apathetic?

12 thoughts on “Welcome to the Best Month Ever

  1. October is a fun month. For me, it involves a family picnic and my church’s annual fair, both of which are extremely fun events. Favorite candy: Snickers. Position on candy corn: so-so.

    But I’d say my favorite month is December with October following very close behind. I like to see the Christmas lights, all the decorations that people put up, and savor the anticipation until Christmas Day.

    Happy birthday, in advance. :-)

    • Hooray! Another so-so-er! Snickers are delicious though. December might have to be my second favorite. I too love all the decorations and everything. The only thing I don’t like is the shopping. Nothing says kindness and giving like trampling people to death to buy material goods.

      Also thank you. :D

  2. Personally my FAVORITE month and holiday are December and Christmas, but October and Halloween are the close seconds. I love it when the weather starts to cool down (I hate the cold, but I REALLY hate being too hot), and Halloween is just such a fun holiday. The hubby and I watch a TON of horror movies throughout October, and since my daughter was born I’ve taken up the tradition of hand-making her costumes. Awesomeness all around. :)

    Oh, and I’d also like to say Happy Birthday in advance. ^_^

    • Oh yes, I will always prefer cold over heat. That’s probably because our cold isn’t too severe, but our heat is the worst. But at least with the cold you can always warm up when needed.

      I like the hand-made costume ideas though! I always went store bought, then later started making my own, the latter was very preferable.

      Thank you too. :D

  3. I think you and I said this last year, but candy corn is amazing and no one I know seems to like it. October is amazing, though. Leaves turning, fall-themed stuff, Halloween (I judge kids costumes and give more candy to the good ones).
    This October is going to be nutty thanks to moving and working my butt off so that I can actually move without going bankrupt, but this is a good reminder not to let an awesome month pass me by. Thanks for that!

    • Ah yes, siblings in candy corn appreciation. It’s a shame you don’t know more people with proper tastes. =[

      How far are you moving? I don’t envy you, it’s a pain in the butt. But good luck! :D

  4. October is a big month in my home. My 2 youngest kids have birthdays this month. And because I am Canadian it is Thanksgiving. And as you said it is time for pumpkin spice everything, and autumn colours, fuzzy sweaters, scarves and boots, and dragon’s breathe and warm blankies with tea or hot chocolate… yes it is a good time of year :)

    • I haven’t heard of dragon’s breath… is it an edible drinkable thing? >.> Also I had my first cup of Hot Chocolate in years just a few days ago, it was a glorious thing. I had forgotten all about it. Whipped cream is a must. Which reminds me, I should have asked how people eat their pumpkin pie; do they use just a little cream or drown the pie in the entire can? Questions questions.

Leave a Reply

