I Leveled Up When I Wrote This Post

Because for some stupid reason you aren't allowed to stay in the starting area.

Because for some stupid reason you aren’t allowed to stay in the starting area.

I’ve always been told that life isn’t a game and that I need to treat it seriously. I was also told that I would not get new gear or gold for doing chores, and if you’re wondering why that’s oddly specific, it’s only because I asked first. But it doesn’t really matter because everyone who told me those things was wrong.

I’ve been trying to figure out different ways to motivate myself and get stuff done, with little success. Sometimes I have so much to do that my brain decides that the best way to handle it is to shut down and do absolutely nothing. It’s a frustrating endless cycle.

Recently though I discovered something that’s been helping a lot. It’s a little website called HabitRPG that basically treats your life like an RPG. All your quests are your chores, errands and other things you need to do every day. I have daily quests for doing stuff at work, but I also have little mini tasks for getting some reading and exercise time in. If you succeed, you get experience. If you fail, you lose experience and HP. You can form parties with your friends, customize an avatar, buy gear, all sorts of fun stuff.

I’m actually impressed by just how well it’s been working. Granted I’ve only been doing it for a little bit, but it’s been consistent, something that I haven’t had happen in a while. I haven’t been procrastinating as much and I’ve been a lot more productive. It’s strangely satisfying. I finally feel like I’m getting a grip on the stuff I have to do.

Incidentally, I noticed that I haven’t been writing on this blog in a bloody long time, so one of my tasks is going to be to write more blog posts. On that note, happy new year everyone. I hope you’re all doing well. I totally missed out on a chance to write one of those new years resolutions post, but this might suffice. All the things I want to do are things I’m already capable of, I just have been doing a poor job of keeping up with them.

4 thoughts on “I Leveled Up When I Wrote This Post

  1. Daniel, this is very cool. I watched the video. I get a lot done, but everything is scattershot, and something always suffers – like cooking and cleaning. I really might do this. Thanks for pointing it out. Happy New Year to you, too. Congratulations on your level up. :-)

Leave a Reply

